I know it seems batcrap insane, but just the other day there was this:

 

And now there’s this:

What the what?  I know.  Believe me, I know.  I’m just as bewildered as you are.  Where did the time go?

The past few weeks, I’ve been doing double takes.  That child can not be mine.  My child is a chubby little baby with cradle cap  whose skin smells like a combination of Johnson’s baby lotion and the best day of your life.  This child in front of me calls things “cool” and has legs a mile long.  She sneaks candy behind my back and critiques my outfit.

Last night I held her on my lap like I used to when she was a baby.  I rocked her back and forth, patting her bottom and humming under my breath.  She tucked her sweaty head under my chin and sucked her thumb.  Though I could barely hold all of her at once, I felt that feeling wash over me.  Do you know that feeling?  It’s a warm beam of light pulsing out from your body to grab onto a warm beam of light pulsing out from their little body, wrapping you both around each other so completely, so firmly, so fiercely that you almost can’t stand it.  And you are overwhelmingly present in that moment, all of your senses fully experiencing a pure connection.  Love is no longer an intangible notion.  It is all around you to see and to touch.  And it will never go away.  It will never end.

Holy cow, y’all.  What just happened?  I was going to write about looking at kindergartens.  Oh well.  I guess when you sign up to Po’ Mo’, you should be thankful for anything.

I’ll write about kindergartens later.

 

 

 

 

 

 

