Welcome back, Daddyphiles! 

Seriously, y’all, how much did you love that post from last week?  A whole helluva lot apparently, because it was the most popular post yet on The Evie Standard.  I knew my dad was a rockstar! 

Or maybe you just love pictures from the seventies and early eighties.  If that’s the case, I’m grabbing some old photo albums, buying a scanner,  throwing up a whole new blog with ads on it and quittin’ my day job.  Mama needs a new pair of stayin’ home shoes!

Ahem.

Now we come to Part the Second of our Paternal Tribute Series.  This week we’re recognizing someone whom we all know and love.  Actually, I know him better than most of you and love him anyway (ba dum dum dum)!

All kidding aside (?!), Gill is a wonderful father.   In fact,and I’ve never told him this, he’s a much, much better father than I suspect he thought he’d be.  I, however, never had a doubt.

See, I believe we’re suffering from a shortage of people like Evie’s daddy.  In this dog-eat-dog world there aren’t a lot folks who are always nice to waitresses and always buy what door-to-door salesmen are selling.  In this modern, technological age not many people still have the  sensitivity and compassion to know when to listen and when to simply hold.  You just don’t meet many people whose basic nature is made up of nothing but warmth, kindness and the sincere desire to make loved ones happy.  This is how Gill is, this is what I fell in love with, and this is what makes him a wonderful father.    

And although he wants you to think he’s this jaded tough guy with a hard, cynical, crusty shell, Evie and I know all about her daddy’s big ol’ gooey center.  And, folks, we wouldn’t want him any other way. 

So, grab some Kleenex and come along with us on our Tribute de Evie’s Daddy.  I would do the honors myself, but I’ve found that Ben Folds has already done a much better job with a song he wrote about his own daughter,  “Gracie.”    I suggest clicking on the link while you’re viewing the pictures for optimum tissue usage.

 ( I took some slight, miniscule artistic liberty with Mr. Folds’ lyrics in that I totally replaced his daughter’s name with Evie’s.  Please don’t sue me, Ben Folds!  It’s me!  You know, the one who’s buying your albums!)  

“You can’t fool me, I saw you when you came out,
You got your momma’s taste, but you got my mouth.

And you will always have a part of me
Nobody else is ever gonna see,
Evie girl
.

With your cards to your chest walking on your toes,
What you got in the box only Evie knows.

And I would never try to make you be
Anything you didn’t really wanna be,
Evie girl.

Life flies by in seconds,
You’re not a baby, Evie, you’re my friend
.


You’ll be a lady soon, but until then
You gotta do what I say.

You nodded off in my arms watching TV,
I won’t move you an inch even though my arm’s asleep.

One day you’re gonna wanna go,
I hope we taught you everything you need to know,
Evie girl.

And you will always have a part of me,
Nobody else is ever gonna see but you and me,
my little girl.
My Evie girl.”

Let the sobbing commence!  Yay!

I hope I’ve done justice to how special the relationship between and father and daughter is.  Let’s end with a little story: When the ultrasound technician told me I was carrying a little girl, I was surprised.  I was absolutely certain I was going to have a boy.   I told my dad that, and he shook his head and said,

“You want a little girl, Kate.  Trust me.  I know.”

 

 

