I’m a planner, and my ultimate plan is to live to be 100 years old, give or take.  That means I’m approximately 1/3 of the way there.  Or, from a more glass-half-full perspective, I’ve still got about 2/3 of my life left. 

Have you read The Secret?  There’s a copy of this little book in the lobby of my office, and I’ve thumbed through it a couple of times.  The gist of it is that you can sort of “call” to the things you want in life and make them happen.  All you have to do is clear away all the metaphorical (and literal) crap that’s blocking the pathway from yourself to those things.  

Like, for instance, say you want to go live in Australia.  I mean, who doesn’t, right?  So, according to The Secret, you must act “as if” you’re already on your way.  Cancel all your magazines, give away your houseplants, pack your bags.  Oh, and talk to yourself as if you’re going.  So if you catch Crocodile Dundee on cable, you say, “Wow, I hope I don’t get attacked by a crocodile like that woman did when I go to Australia.”  

Soon, the Universe will perk its ears up and realize, “Hey, this person wants to go to Australia!” and soon you’ll be winging your way to the land of the backwards-flowing toilet water.

Easy enough.  If you build it, your subconscious will come.  Dude, I can totally get down with that.  So I made a list of the top ten things I really, really want to happen in my life before I die. 

From the Sublime to the WTF?:  Katie’s Top Ten Shout-Outs to the Universe

1.  My husband and I will take an extended second honeymoon to Europe where we will visit France, Italy, Spain and the British Isles and fall in love all over again.

2.  My husband and I will sell our current house and buy a new house that is just right for both of us and makes both of us very happy forever and ever, amen.

3.  My husband and I will raise our daughter, Eve, and any future children we may have in a loving home.  Our children will be healthy, well-adjusted, confident, happy people who bring joy to the lives of others.

4.  My husband and I will one day be in a position that makes it possible for me to be a stay-at-home mom.

5.  I will walk through my house one day, looking at how I’ve arranged and decorated all the rooms, and say, “This is perfect.  I love it.  I wouldn’t change a thing.”

6.  I will have a complete collection of all my absolute favorite books, movies and music.

7.  I will flawlessly cook 10 meals that make people close their eyes and say, “Mmmmm…”.

 8.  I will write and have published a novel.

9.  I will lose the last ten pounds.

10.  I will visit the following places: Africa, Japan, Alaska…and New York City.

Okay, so I thought it would take me at least 24 hours to come up with a good, solid list.  Seems my subconscious was just waiting for the chance to do this.  And, as always, I know as soon as I click “Publish” I’ll want to go back and edit the crap out it.  But I think the first ten things that popped into my head might be the truest.  So.

What about you?  Have you made your list?  The Universe is waitin’, y’all.

