Evie inspired me to begin this blog, and I really enjoy writing it every week.  I hadn’t written anything for so long, I was afraid to try to start again.  However, although the writing part of my brain still still sputters sometimes like a car that won’t start (See?), when I really get going, it starts to flow out of me, just like the old days.  I gotta tell you, there’s no feeling in the world like the muse really kicking in and knowing what’s spilling out of you and onto the screen is good stuff.

But I found myself thinking of other things I wanted to write about that had nothing to do with Eve.  I know!  How can there be anything else to think about?  Bruce Springsteen, aka my secret lover, said it best (and I paraphrase):  “When you start creating every day, using your talent, your brain will open and become more receptive to new ideas, new creation.  That’s where ideas come from. ”  Of course, The Boss also invited Wendy to “strap [her] hands ‘cross [his] engines,” so do with that what you will.

What I’m trying to say, in my roundabout, confusing, just-get-to-the-point-already way, is that I’ve started a new blog.  It’s a non-Evie blog, although Evie will certainly be mentioned on occasion, called Notes from the Handbasket.  I thought that was a sufficiently witty, cynical, writerish, full-of-myself title. 

I hesitated to tell you about this new blog because it’s very different from The Evie Standard.  I’ve done my best to make sure Evie’s blog maintains at least a PG rating.  Notes from the Handbasket is more about my life as Katie and less about my life as Evie’s mommy.  What I’m trying to say is that there will be swearing, people.  There will be swearing, taking the Lord’s name in vain, the F bomb and possibly drugs and hookers.   Because that’s the way I, Katie, talk.  I clean it up as best I can for you here, but I’m lettin’ it fly over there.  Besides, sometimes a few choice words just sound better, and if you’ve ever seen a Tarantino film, you know what I mean.

So, I warned you.  And, in my defense, most of the mommies in my blogroll don’t separate their mommyblog from their regular blog — it’s all one crazy R-rated party with ranting manifestoes of swear-filled stream-of-consciousness right next to the cutest pictures of their babies.  And the writing is some of the best on the Internet.  Just sayin’.

Anyway.  Now back to your regulary-scheduled blog.

